Counseling Center

  • High School Counseling Center

    Please use the links on the left to navigate through the section.

    Office Phone: 716-773-8860

    Office Fax: 716-773-3503

    CEEB CODE:  332 163

     

    Counselors:

    Mrs. Mollie Bowers           molliebowers@gicsd.org       773-8875 (Student Last Names A-D)

    Mrs. Christina Kensy        christinakensy@gicsd.org     773-8857 (Student Last Names E-K)

    Mrs. Jacquie Walters        jacquiewalters@gicsd.org     773-8863 (Student Last Names L-Q)

    Mrs. Sheryl Kavanagh      sherylkavanagh@gicsd.org   773-8862 (Student Last Names R-Z)

    School Social Worker

    Mrs. Heather LaPier          heatherlapier@gicsd.org      773-8839

    School Psychologist:

    Ms. Michelle Smock          michellesmock@gicsd.org    773-8859

    Guidance Center Staff:

    Ms. Karen Fischer       773-8866    karenfischer@gicsd.org

    Mrs. Nannette Keller   773-8865    nannettekeller@gicsd.org

     

    You are welcome to call your school counselor at anytime.

     


     

    What do we do?

     

    EDUCATIONAL PLANNING

    * Annual Review

    * BOCES

    * Graduation Requirements

    * Curriculum Choices

    * Academic Support Services

    * Alternative High School Programs

     

    COUNSELING

    * Crisis

    * Educational & Vocational

    * Short Term Support

     

    COLLEGE/MILITARY PLANNING

    * College Selection

    * College Applications

    * Financial Aid Program

    * Scholarship Information

    * Military Liaison

    * NCAA Coordination

     

    CAREER/JOB PLANNING

    * Assist with Internship Program

    * Shadowing

    * Job Application Process

     

    COMMITTEE PARTICIPATION

    * Committee on Special Education

    * Comprehensive School Improvement Team

     

    TESTING

    * PSAT (Preliminary Aptitude Test)

    * ACT (American College Test)

    * SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test)

    As school counselors, we use a multidisciplinary approach, consulting with:

    * Teachers * Parents

    * Administrators * Physicians

    * Community Agencies * Social Workers

    * Psychologists * Clergy

    * Mental Health Professionals

    Counselors take an active role in positivie communications with parents, students, and the community through various brochures, parent nights, and student programs.

    G.I.H.S. Student Services Center officers not only our current students assistance in a variety of areas, but we also assist our graduates.  Our goal is to facilitate personal growth in our students.  Because of our multidisciplinary approach, we are able to target many areas:

    * RESPONSIBILITY

    * LEADERSHIP SKILLS

    * GOAL SETTING

    * DECISION MAKING SKILLS

    * RESOURCEFULNESS

    * COMMUNICATION SKILLS

    * CAREER EXPLORATION

    * COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT